A functionally efficient and sustainable Kitui County Headquarters with a vibrant economy that nudge prosperity through rural-urban


“To facilitate safe, resilient, inclusive and sustainable urbanization through good governance, quality services delivery, Economic growth, and effective infrastructure”.


Overview of Kitui    County

Kitui County is located 170Km to the South East of Nairobi City. It covers an area of about 30,496 km2. It borders Machakos and Makueni Counties to the West, Tana River County to the East, Taita-Taveta County to the South, and Embu and Tharaka- Nithi Counties to the North. it is about two and half hours’ drive from Nairobi and 30 minutes flight by a chopper.

Population: 1,147,200

Female: 602,002

Male: 545,195

Growth Rate: 2.1%